About NSF

Home >> About NSF

The National Sleep Foundation is dedicated to improving health and well-being through sleep education and advocacy. It is well-known for its annual Sleep in America® poll. The Foundation is a charitable, educational and scientific not-for-profit organization located in Washington, DC. Its membership includes researchers and clinicians focused on sleep medicine, health professionals, patients, families affected by drowsy driving and more than 900 healthcare facilities. 

Board of Directors


Charles A. Czeisler, PhD, MD
Baldino Professor of Sleep Medicine and Director Division of Sleep Medicine, Harvard Medical School Chief, Division of Sleep Medicine, Department of Medicine Brigham and Women’s Hospital


Max Hirshkowitz, PhD
Professor, Baylor College of Medicine and VAMC Sleep Center


Joseph Ojile, MD
Medical Director, Clayton Sleep Institute


Daniel B. Brown
The Daniel Brown Law Group, LLC


Richard K. Bogan, MD
Chairman and Chief Medical Officer , SleepMed Inc.

David G. Davila, MD
Medical Director, Sleep Center, Baptist Health Medical Center

Helene A. Emsellem, MD
Medical Director, The Center for Sleep & Wake Disorders

Benjamin Gerson, MD
Medical Director, University Services

Lauren Hale, PhD
Associate Professor of Preventive Medicine, Graduate Program, Public Health, SUNY, Stony Brook

Susan Keena
Associate Publisher, Architectural Digest, Condé Nast

Jerrold A. Kram, MD

California Center for Sleep Disorders

John Lopos
Managing Principal, LiFT HIS

Matthew S. Mellott
President, Medbridge Healthcare LLC

Frankie Roman, MD, JD
Neurology & Neuroscience Associates, Inc.

Stephen H. Sheldon, DO
Professor of Pediatrics, Feinberg School of Medicine, Northwestern University
Director, Sleep Medicine Center, Ann and Robert H. Lurie Children's Hospital of Chicago

Lisa Shives, MD
Medical Director, The Linden Center for Sleep and Weight Management

Amy R. Wolfson, PhD
Vice President for Academic Affairs, Loyola University Maryland

Chief Executive Officer

David M. Cloud, MBA