National Sleep Foundation Names New Leadership

Home >> Sleep News >> National Sleep Foundation Names New Leadership

June 26, 2013

Christopher L. Drake, Chair and Charles A. Czeisler, Vice Chair

WASHINGTON, DC, June 19, 2013 — Christopher Drake, PhD, has been elected chair of the National Sleep Foundation (NSF) for a one-year term starting July 1. Dr. Drake is Investigator at the Henry Ford Sleep Disorders and Research Center and Associate Professor of Psychiatry and Behavioral Neurosciences at Wayne State University in Detroit, Michigan. As chair, Dr. Drake will lead the National Sleep Foundation’s board of directors, comprised of physicians, scientists, and business professionals.

“It’s an honor and a privilege to serve as chair of the National Sleep Foundation. The NSF will continue on its mission to improve sleep health and safety in this country. Too many people aren’t getting the sleep they need and want.” said Dr. Drake.

Also starting July 1, Dr. Charles Czeisler, PhD, MD, will serve as vice chair. Dr. Czeisler is the Baldino Professor of Sleep Medicine and Director of Division of Sleep Medicine at Harvard Medical School and Chief, Division of Sleep Medicine at Brigham and Women’s Hospital in Boston, Massachusetts. Joseph Ojile, MD, President of the Clayton Sleep Institute, will serve as Secretary, and Daniel B. Brown, JD, Managing Shareholder of the Health Law Partners, LLC in Atlanta, Georgia, will serve as Treasurer.

Other newly elected members of the board include Benjamin Gerson, MD, Lauren Hale, PhD and Stephen H. Sheldon, DO. Dr. Gerson is the Medical Director of University Services in Philadelphia, Pennsylvania; Dr. Hale is Associate Professor of Preventive Medicine at Stony Brook University School of Medicine in Stony Brook, New York; and Dr. Sheldon is Professor of Pediatrics at Northwestern University and Director of Sleep Medicine Center at the Ann and Robert H. Lurie Children’s Hospital in Chicago, Illinois. All have worked as volunteers for various NSF committees.

"The National Sleep Foundation is fortunate in its ability to attract leading sleep scientists and clinicians to volunteer their expertise," said David M. Cloud, NSF's Chief Executive Officer. "We are greatly honored that Dr. Drake, Dr. Czeisler, Dr. Ojile and Mr. Brown have accepted leadership positions with the Foundation and that Drs.

Learn about how sleep impacts your health
Powered by National Sleep Foundation