Call for Nominations: National Sleep Foundation's 2013 Lifetime Achievement Award

Home >> Sleep News >> Call for Nominations: National Sleep Foundation's 2013 Lifetime Achievement Award

April 20, 2012



The National Sleep Foundation is now accepting nominations for its 2013 Lifetime Achievement Award.

The Lifetime Achievement Award nominees will have distinguished themselves based on professional productivity and demonstrated leadership in the sleep medicine and/or sleep research fields which has been sustained over a long period of time.  The nominees will have made outstanding contributions in one or more of the following areas: original research; development and/or leadership of an enduring or effective program, organization or department; volunteering to lead and develop public and professional organizations; mentoring; teaching; policy initiatives and advocacy; additional activities that have clearly advanced sleep science, sleep medicine or the public health related to sleep; and other contributions that the National Sleep Foundation Board of Directors may deem to be appropriate.

The NSF mission is dedicated to improving sleep health and safety by achieving greater awareness of sleep and sleep disorders through education and advocacy.  In keeping with the NSF mission, nominees need not be clinicians or researchers. 

The winner will be required to accept the award at the NSF Annual Awards Dinner on March 1, 2013 in Washington, DC.  The NSF Board of Directors will consider all qualified candidates and select the winner.

Friday, April 20, 2012


  1. Email nomination to
  2. Use email subject line “2013 LAA”
  3. Provide name, title and organization/affiliation of the candidate
  4. Provide three (3) succinct reasons for nominating the candidate
  5. Provide the name, title, organization/affiliation and contact information of the person submitting the nomination

2012 - Michael Thorpy, MBChB
2011 - Robert Y. Moore, MD, PhD
2010 - Allan I. Pack, MBChB, PhD
2009 - Philip R. Westbrook, MD, D.ABSM
2008 - Charles A. Czeisler, MD, PhD, FRCP
2007 - Sonia Ancoli-Israel, PhD
2006 - James K. Walsh, PhD
2005 - Christian Guilleminault, MD
2004 - Allan Rechtschaffen, PhD
2003 - Mary A. Carskadon, PhD
2002 - Thomas Roth, PhD
2001 - William C. Dement, MD, PhD